Middle School Education (EdS)

Degree: Education Specialist Degrees

Email this | Printer friendly page

Georgia middle school (grades 4-8) initial certification may be obtained through the undergraduate middle school education program and through an "M.Ed. plus certification" option. The preservice teachers specialize in two subject areas from among language arts, mathematics, science, and social studies and develop an understanding of the unique cognitive, social, and emotional needs of young adolescents.


College of Education
Aderhold Hall
Athens, GA 30602-7101
Phone: 706/542-6446

Academic Department

Educational Theory and Practice
Aderhold Hall
Athens, GA 30602-7177
Phone: 706/542-4244


Graduate Coordinator

Kyunghwa Lee


The Educational Specialist (Ed.S.) program in middle school education is most appropriate for candidates who already have T5 certification to teach children in grades 4 to 8. The program leads to eligibility for T6 certification in Georgia and is best suited to individuals who wish to focus their careers primarily on teaching and curriculum leadership at the pre-collegiate level. To be admitted to the program, applicants must have (a) a Bachelor's degree from an accredited institution with a minimum 2.75 undergraduate GPA; (b) a Master's degree from an accredited institution with a minimum GPA of 3.30; (c) a GRE score of at least 900, with a minimum score of 450 on the verbal and quantitative subtests, or a minimum score of 408 on the MAT; and (d) 2 years of teaching experience with young adolescents. Application deadlines for U.S. applicants are: March 1 to begin in Summer or Fall semesters; October 1 to begin in the Spring semester. International students should plan to apply two months prior to these deadlines.



Course Descriptions



Find Courses

Browse the full list of programs alphabetically, or by school.